Bisphenol-A (BPA); is it as Harmful as we Think?

For my research paper I decided to take a different route, and talk more about the health effects with a specific material, plastic, and more specifically the BPA that some plastics, predominantly shatter-resistant bottles. BPA is a chemical that is used in plastic food and beverage containers and in the coating of food cans.[1] I’ve had a few questions asked about how I came up with talking about BPA for this. I initially was researching plastic as a material trying to find something interesting to write about, then I was given some suggestions on narrowing down what exactly I want to talk about. Health effects was one the suggestions, so then I just started looking for health effects linked to plastic, and BPA was the first one I found and the most interesting.

plastic-BPA

   BPA

I found out that there has been a disagreement on whether or not BPA is harmful or not, and for a long time it’s been considered as not being harmful, however I did find some articles and studies that prove that it is linked to heart disease, diabetes, and obesity. You’re probably wondering, “well how does someone consume this chemical?” It’s known as a leaching liquid, and what that means is that it can leak into baby formula, water, or inside food containers, and it can damages your insides because it is a carcinogen, which is considered to be any substance that can cause cancer.

cheatsheet_BPA-1

Water Bottle Containing BPA

My plan is to argue that BPA is a harmful chemical, and should be removed and/or substituted for an alternative. I also plan to incorporate a comparison of other plastics as well as alternatives to using plastic and avoiding this chemical. bpa-babybottles


[1] Plastics chemical BPA linked to health problems!.” Viewzone Magazine: A look at life and human culture from different angles.. N.p., n.d. Web. 3 Dec. 2012. <http://www.viewzone.com/plasticpoison.html

 

Leave a Reply

